Smaug’s Painting

At my college there is a competition going on for a poetry award. Being in a poetry class, I was immediately drawn to it. I will be sampling my pieces here before putting it in the portfolio to present for the award. Enjoy!

Even as a die-hard LOTR and Hobbit fan, no one compares to my sister. Except maybe Stephen Colbert. While struggling for inspiration, I thought of Smaug who I incidentally dressed up as at the premiere of The Desolation of Smaug (DoS) in my hometown. Since I paint as well, I decided to write a poem about the difficulty of painting Smaug. All Rights Reverved (except for Smaug of course…)

 

Smaug’s Painting

“You’re focused in my mind’s eye

Like the picture of a sparkling beach

Thin lines of charcoal simply can’t do you justice

With your eyes the colour of a peach

 

Bright sparks of red

Spit from between your fangs

I try to capture your draconic beauty

But around my canvas your wings hang.”

Leave a comment